Orchestra Project

Connecting people of different backgrounds in their enthusiasm for music is what the 'Klänge der Hoffnung' project stands for since 2016. The dream of having our own orchestra came true in 2021 - transculturally and like the whole project in the spirit of autumn '89: for an open country with free people.

Musicians and instruments
The 'Klänge der Hoffnung' orchestra brings together around 40 musicians from the Leipzig area who grew up in a wide variety of places, including Syria, Mexico, Colombia, Germany, Armenia, Venezuela, Argentina, Italy, Guinea, Turkey and Iran. Accordingly, non-European and European instruments work together equally and harmoniously in our music: Oud, baglama, santoor, ukulele and West African percussion instruments alongside violin, clarinet and piano.

Our music
Our orchestra musically reflects the diversity of our musicians. Our own compositions, which include quarter tones from Arabic and Persian musical cultures or Latin American rhythms, for example, create surprising stylistic connections - and Leipzig's very own diversity.
The musical director of the orchestra is Ali Pirabi. He studied European music in Iran and loves Bach's works. In 2013, he had to flee for political reasons. He found a new home in Leipzig, the city of Bach.

Performances and activities
From high culture to educational work: the orchestra has already played in the Leipzig Gewandhaus or at the Klangbrücken Festival in Dresden and at the same time creates offers for schools to address young people in particular, in both rural and urban areas. Another focus is the supra-regional and international networking with similar initiatives.

Concerts 2023

 

Not all details of the concerts of the orchestra 'Sounds of Hope' have been fixed yet.

What is certain is that we will play on

6 June at 7 pm at the Gewandhaus (Great Hall)
1 July at 4 pm at Kloster Buch

More information and further concerts soon under News

Videos

Project funding


The 'Klänge der Hoffnung' project "In Vielfalt vereint - Leipziger interkulturelles Orchester" (United in Diversity - Leipzig Intercultural Orchestra) is funded by the Federal Ministry of the Interior, for Building and the Home Affairs and the Free State of Saxony within the framework of the state programme Integrative Measures as well as the Gesellschaft für Leistungsschutzrechte mbH (GVL).

Orchester-Projekt

Menschen verschiedenster Herkunft in der Begeisterung für Musik verbinden, dafür steht das Projekt „Klänge der Hoffnung“ der Stiftung Friedliche Revolution seit 2016. Der Traum vom eigenen Orchester hat sich 2021 verwirklicht - transkulturell und wie das ganze Projekt im Geist des Herbstes ’89: Für ein offenes Land mit freien Menschen.

Musiker*innen und Instrumente
Im Orchester „Klänge der Hoffnung“ kommen ca. 40 Musiker*innen aus dem Raum Leipzig zusammen, die an unterschiedlichsten Orten aufgewachsen sind: u.a. in Syrien, Mexiko, Kolumbien, Deutschland, Armenien, Venezuela, Argentinien, Italien, Guinea, der Türkei und im Iran. Entsprechend wirken in unserer Musik außereuropäische und europäische Instrumente gleichberechtigt und harmonisch zusammen: Oud, Baglama, Santur, Ukulele und westafrikanische Perkussionsinstrumente neben Violine, Klarinette und Klavier.

Unsere Musik
In unserem Orchester spiegelt sich musikalisch die Vielfalt der Musiker*innen wieder. Durch eigene Kompositionen, die z. B. Vierteltöne aus arabischen und persischen Musikkulturen oder lateinamerikanische Rhythmen einbeziehen, entstehen überraschende stilistische Verbindungen - und eine ganz eigene Vielfalt Leipzigs.
Musikalischer Orchesterleiter ist Ali Pirabi. Er studierte Europäische Musik im Iran und liebt Bachs Werke. 2013 musste er aus politischen Gründen fliehen. In der Bach-Stadt Leipzig fand er eine neue Heimat.

Auftritte und Aktivitäte
Von Hochkultur bis zu pädagogischer Arbeit: Das Orchester spielte bereits im Leipziger Gewandhaus oder beim Klangbrückenfestival in Dresden und schafft gleichzeitig Angebote für Schulen, um besonders auch junge Menschen anzusprechen, im ländlichen wie städtischen Raum. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die überregionale und internationale Vernetzung mit ähnlichen Initiativen.

Konzerte 2022

Das Orchesters ‚Klänge der Hoffnung‘ tritt 2022 auf:

  • 15.5., 17 Uhr - Eilenburg (Nikolaikirche)
  • 28.5., 19 Uhr - Lyon (Grand Temple)
  • 12.6., 17 Uhr - Leisnig (Kloster Buch)
  • 03.07., 15.30 Uhr - Biedermeier Strand (Hayna)
  • 10.07., 16 Uhr - Leipzig (Geyser Haus)
  • 17.09., 19 Uhr - Freiberg (Petrikiche)
  • 25.09., 17 Uhr - Chemnitz (Kreuzkirche)
  • 03.10., 17 Uhr - Leipzig (Nikolaikirche)
  • 24.11., 10 Uhr - Leipzig (Gewandhaus) Schüler*innenkonzert

Mehr Informationen zu den einzelnen Konzerten unter Aktuelles

Videos

Projektförderung


Das "Klänge der Hoffnung"-Projekt "In Vielfalt vereint - Leipziger interkulturelles Orchester" wird gefördert durch das Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat und den Freistaat Sachsen im Rahmen des Landesprogramms Integrative Maßnahmen sowie die Gesellschaft für Leistungsschutzrechte mbH (GVL).